Time and Space

Workshop for contemporary music and music technology #2

24. – 31. 8. 2024

Do you like improvising on your instrument or creating your own music?

Then you’ve come to the right place!

In the workshop for contemporary music and music technology, which takes place from 24 August to 31 August 2024 at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), you can explore various aspects of contemporary music creation. In five themed groups, participants will explore composing music for instruments, voice, electronics, film, new media, concert stage, dance or theatre.

The programme is aimed at all young musicians who already have advanced instrumental/vocal skills and musical expertise. However, it is not necessary to have experience in composing music. One of the aims of the workshop is to dissolve the separation that still exists between performing interpretation and creative composition. During the workshop, you can explore the creation of your own music in depth. Internationally active composers and music experts with digital media will lead the workshop and support participants in developing their own musical language. There will also be many opportunities to exchange ideas about different cultural traditions and to familiarise yourself with new musical styles and soundscapes. A presentation of the resulting compositions will conclude the workshop week.

On Tuesday, 27 August 2024, there will be a joint excursion on the topic of «Time and Space».


Mirjam Skal is a freelance media composer and orchestrator from Zurich. She received her Master’s degree in Composition for Film, Theatre and Media from the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) in 2022. In recent years, Mirjam has composed numerous soundtracks for short films, games, commercials and documentaries and regularly composes music for SRF (Swiss Radio and Television), for example for Bettina Oberli’s mini-series EMMA LÜGT, which was broadcast in 2022. In her compositions, Mirjam prefers to interweave synthetic textures with orchestral sounds, and she is also fascinated by special instruments such as the theremin and hurdy-gurdy. In 2021 Mirjam became part of the Berlinale Talents. In the same year, she received a mentorship from the Alliance for Women Film Composers (AWFC) by the renowned film composer Mychael Danna (LIFE OF PI). Following the mentorship, Mirjam was invited to co-compose the film DER GESANG DER FLUSSKREBSE. Mirjam’s music can currently be heard on television in the two new Zurich Tatort episodes 2024, directed by Mike Schaerer.

Vivian Wang works in Zurich and Singapore. She is a lecturer in the Master’s programme in Composition at Zurich University of the Arts. Composer, sound artist and musician Vivian Wang explores in-between spaces and develops works across a range of sonic interfaces in art, science, culture and space. She plays with prepared objects, synthesisers, samplers and electronics. She is a founding member of the avant-rock group The Observator. Wang’s immersive compositional works include Priests & Programmers, a 16-channel sound installation commissioned for the first Sharjah Architecture Triennial 2019, and Alt Human, an octophonic work premiered at Ekko Festival 2021 in Norway. Her recent practice continues to explore existential human states, the basis of her ongoing research in breath, listening and sound perception as well as interactive art that combines ambient sounds, field recordings and elemental approaches as source material.

Fabian Künzli is a full-time composer and is characterised by an impressive stylistic breadth. His work includes various compositions for orchestras, choirs, chamber ensembles, bands and soloists. A particular focus is on composing for family concerts, including musical fairy tales, educational projects, musicals, children’s operas and interactive projects. After studying composition and music theory at the Zurich University of the Arts, he obtained a Master of Arts in Music with a specialisation in composition in 2010 and completed his Master’s degree in music theory in 2012. Today he teaches as a lecturer for composition & arrangement in the field of music education at the Zurich University of the Arts.

Olav Lervik studied composition in Weimar and Stuttgart as well as composition for film, theatre and media in Zurich. He produces music and sound for film, games and interactive installations. He teaches composition for film, theatre and media at the Zurich University of the Arts. He has also composed numerous contemporary and electro-acoustic pieces.

Till Löffler is a composer, musician and lecturer in composition, music theory and scenic song design at the Zurich University of the Arts. He studied conducting, piano, percussion and early music theory and performance practice at the Mozarteum Salzburg. From 1994–2005 he worked at the Staatstheater Stuttgart as musical director, composer and stage director. In his career as a musical director and/or composer, he has worked for renowned German theatres (including the Bavarian State Theatre, Thalia Theatre Hamburg, Volksbühne Berlin)as well as well-known institutions such as the Neumarkt Theatre in Zurich, Basel Theatre, Schauspielhaus Zurich and Zurich Opera House.

Registration
«Time and Space»

Zeit und Raum

Werkstatt für zeitgenössische Musik und Musiktechnologie #2

24. – 31. 8. 2024

Du improvisierst gerne auf deinem Instrument oder kreierst eigene Musik?

Dann bist du hier am richtigen Ort!

In der Werkstatt für zeitgenössische Musik und Musiktechnologie, die vom 24. August bis zum 31. August 2024 an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) stattfindet, kannst du dich mit verschiedenen Aspekten eines zeitgemässen Musikschaffens auseinandersetzen. In fünf Themengruppen erforschen die Teilnehmenden das Komponieren von Musik für Instrumente, Gesang, Elektronik, Film, neue Medien, Konzertbühne, Tanz oder Theater.

Das Angebot richtet sich an alle jungen Musiker:innen, welche auf dem Instrument/Gesang bereits über fortgeschrittene Kompetenzen und musikalische Expertisen verfügen. Es ist aber nicht notwendig, dass schon Erfahrung im Komponieren von Musik vorhanden ist. Ein Anliegen der Workshopwoche ist es, die immer noch stark vorhandene Trennung zwischen ausführendem Interpretieren und kreativem Komponieren aufzulösen. In der Workshopwoche kannst du dich vertieft mit der Kreation deiner eigenen Musik auseinandersetzen. International tätige Komponist:innen und Musik-Expert:innen mit digitalen Medien werden die Werkstatt leiten und die Teilnehmenden bei der Entwicklung ihrer eigenen musikalischen Sprache unterstützen. Während der Woche gibt es auch viele Gelegenheiten sich über unterschiedliche kulturelle Traditionen auszutauschen und neue musikalische Stilistiken und Klangwelten kennenzulernen. Eine Präsentation der entstandenen Kompositionen schliesst die Workshopwoche ab.

Am Dienstag, 27. 8. 2024 findet eine gemeinsame Exkursion zum Thema «Zeit und Raum» statt.


Mirjam Skal ist eine freischaffende Medienkomponistin und Orchestratorin aus Zürich. 2022 erhielt sie ihr Masterdiplom in Komposition für Film, Theater und Medien an der ZHdK (Zürcher Hochschule der Künste). Mirjam komponierte in den vergangenen Jahren zahlreiche Soundtracks für Kurzfilme, Games, Werbung und Dokumentarfilme und komponiert regelmässig Musik für das SRF (Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen), beispielsweise für Bettina Oberli’s Mini-Serie EMMA LÜGT, die 2022 ausgestrahlt wurde. In ihren Kompositionen verwebt Mirjam am liebsten synthetische Texturen mit orchestralen Klängen, daneben faszinieren sie spezielle Instrumente wie Theremin und Drehleier. 2021 wurde Mirjam Teil der Berlinale Talents. Im selben Jahr erhielt sie durch der Alliance for Women Film Composers (AWFC) ein Mentorat durch den renommierten Filmkomponisten Mychael Danna (LIFE OF PI). Im Anschluss an das Mentorat wurde Mirjam eingeladen, an Film DER GESANG DER FLUSSKREBSE mitzukomponieren. Mirjam’s Musik wird aktuell in den beiden neuen Zürcher Tatort-Folgen 2024, in Regie von Mike Schaerer, im Fernsehen zu hören sein.

Vivian Wang arbeitet in Zürich und Singapur. Sie ist Dozentin im Masterstudiengang Komposition an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Die Komponistin, Klangkünstlerin und Musikerin Vivian Wang erkundet Zwischenräume und entwickelt Werke über eine Reihe klanglicher Schnittstellen in Kunst, Wissenschaft, Kultur und Raum. Sie spielt mit vorbereiteten Objekten, Synthesizern, Samplern und Elektronik. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied der Avant-Rock-Gruppe The Observator. Zu Wangs immersiven kompositorischen Werken gehören Priests & Programmers, eine 16-Kanal-Klanginstallation, die für die erste Sharjah Architecture Triennial 2019 in Auftrag gegeben wurde, und Alt Human, ein Oktophonisches Werk, das beim Ekko Festival 2021 in Norwegen uraufgeführt wurde. In ihrer jüngsten Praxis untersucht sie weiter existentielle menschliche Zustände, die Grundlage ihrer fortlaufenden Forschung in den Bereichen Atem, Zuhören und Klangwahrnehmung sowie interaktiver Kunst, die Umgebungsgeräusche, Feldaufzeichnungen und elementare Ansätze als Ausgangsmaterial kombiniert.

Fabian Künzli ist hauptberuflich als Komponist tätig und zeichnet sich durch eine beeindruckende stilistische Breite aus. Sein Schaffen umfasst diverse Kompositionen für Orchester, Chöre, Kammerensembles, Bands und Solist:innen. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf der Komposition für Familienkonzerte, einschliesslich musikalischer Märchen, Bildungsprojekte, Musicals, Kinderopern und interaktiver Projekte. Nach seinem Studium in Komposition und Musiktheorie an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste erlangte er 2010 den «Master of Arts in Music» mit Schwerpunkt in Komposition und schloss 2012 das Masterstudium in Musiktheorie ab. Heute unterrichtet er als Dozent für Komposition & Arrangement im Bereich Musikpädagogik an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste.

Olav Lervik studierte Komposition in Weimar und Stuttgart sowie Komposition für Film, Theater und Medien in Zürich. Er produziert Musik und Sound für Film, Spiele und interaktive Installationen. Er unterrichtet Komposition für Film, Theater und Medien an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Er hat auch zahlreiche zeitgenössische und elektroakustische Stücke komponiert.

Till Löffler ist Komponist, Musiker und Dozent an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste für Komposition, Musiktheorie, sowie für szenische Liedgestaltung. Er studierte am Mozarteum Salzburg Dirigieren, Klavier, Schlagwerk sowie Theorie und Aufführungspraxis alte Musik. Von 1994–2005 war er am Staatstheater Stuttgart tätig als musikalischer Leiter, Komponist und Regisseur. In seiner Laufbahn als musikalischer Leiter und/oder Komponist arbeitete er bei namhaften deutschen Bühnen (u.a. Bayerisches Staatstheater, Thalia-Theater Hamburg, Volksbühne Berlin) sowie den uns bestens bekannten Institutionen wie Theater Neumarkt Zürich, Theater Basel, Schauspielhaus Zürich und Opernhaus Zürich.

Registration
«Time and Space»